Or from the side:
Here is what the place looked like in 1981 (courtesy the Glebe Report), just after it had received heritage designation by the city of Ottawa.
A landmark since 1906, it was built at at time when the Ottawa Improvement Commission was at the very early stages of creating the driveway along the canal as a beautiful place to visit. Before then, the area was a rough work in progress, as these images (located in the Library and Archives Canada photo collection) from 1902-1903 attest to.
Into this new area arrives William R. Queale. Until recently not much was known about Queale. But some sleuthing has uncovered some interesting facts about this Ottawa businessman. One of the first references is his marriage to Miss Emma George In 1897. In this clipping, it is noted that he is one of the proprietors of the Bodega Hotel. More o that shortly.
Another newspaper clipping from 1904 suggests a slightly less than happy couple:
The business partnership between Queale and his hotel partner Mills came to an end in 1899:
From 1903, we learn he is the proprietor of a Bodega Hotel on Wellington Street at Elgin
In 1905, one news article notes that he was charged thirty dollars for selling liquor outside of legal hours:
Again in 1905, he caught selling liquor on Election Day.
And again in 1905, a truly breathtaking story of Queale trying to break into his brother in laws house at 18 First Avenue to take possession of his children:
It appears that Queale did not live here and rented out all five units. In fact, Queale was not long for the world, as he died in 1908 (at the moment we cannot find his obituary).
In 1909, we find this advertisement for the 5 units, described as being part of the estate of Queale, and also promoted as an investment property:
We have a few interesting snippets relating to the Queale family: